Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

Open day at Blackpool Winter Gardens was a huge success again this year, people everywhere photographing the beautiful architecture, sitting in the Opera House watching vintage films and parents armed with cameras capturing their kids as they danced and played on empty stages to music only they could hear. After being drawn as always to the East Side Gallery and photographing windows , seats and random coat hangers I set off in search of an object that would inspire me. Now this isn’t difficult in The Winter Gardens because every room and corridor is beautiful and I love every brick of it…..still I ventured up back stairways and through closed doors and found myself on the upper balcony, the view to the stage and seats below took my breath away but I wasn’t there for views from the gods so I carried on my wandering and there it was.

P1310413aaa

Mind working overtime with images and inspiration, Rothko, Eggleston even Stanley Kubrick and The Shining..all these thoughts and I knew this was my photo of the day, had to open a cupboard behind me, sit on the floor and hold doors open with feet but managed to fit it all in the frame. How happy I was..3 frames shot quickly  rushing really to get back downstairs but then I saw the Gents toilet door….haha again me thinks…there’s no one about so will see if they’ve been modernised since the building was built..remember am up on the upper balcony and haven’t been up there since I was a kid. I opened the door to find an inner door and complete darkness…of course no one was upstairs and no one was using the toilets..I stepped inside , fumbled about for the light switch muttering under my breath again.. as is my wont, found the light and there I find myself in the gents loos and in front of a row of shining pristine porcelain urinals..oh joy!P1310420 another 4 quick shots of the ‘offending’ items, turned the lights off, composed myself so I didn’t look like a crazed woman coming out of the gents and hurried down stairs feeling very happy.

 

 

